General background:

The United Republic of Tanzania is a country in East Africa within the African Great Lakes region. It borders Uganda to the north; Kenya to the northeast; the Comoro Islands and the Indian Ocean to the east; Mozambique and Malawi to the south; Zambia to the southwest; and Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest mountain, is in northeastern Tanzania.

Continent  Africa
Capital cities   Dar es Salaam and Dodoma (one of 12 countries that have two capital cities!)
Official language  Swahili and English
Population  63.59 million, making it the most populous country located entirely south of the equator.
Local currency  Tanzanian shilling
The national motto  “Freedom and Unity” or Uhuru na Umoja in Swahili. 
Government  Unitary Presidential democratic republic

Cooperation with AICAT

Cooperation with AICAT began in 2022, with the first cohort of 100 students from eight different academic institutes in the North of the country. 


There is no Israeli embassy in Tanzania. Contact can be made through the Israeli Embassy in Nairobi, Kenya.