East Timor

East Timor

General background:

The Democratic Republic of East Timor is in Southeast Asia, located on the eastern half of the island of Timor, and on the adjacent islands Atauro and Jaco.It also includes the Oecusse exclave on the western side of the island, within the Indonesian West Timor.
East Timor  has declared its independence in 2002 and it is one of the youngest countries in the world.
Continent: Asia
Capital city: Dili (also the largest city)
Official language: Tetum, Portuguese
Population: 1,201,542
Local currency: American dollar (USD)
National motto: Unity, Action, Progress
Government: Unitary semi-presidential republic

Cooperation with AICAT:

Cooperation with AICAT began in 2015, with the encouragement and assistance of the Israeli Embassy in Singapore and in cooperation with the  National University of East Timor.


  There is no Israeli embassy in East Timot. Contact can be made through the Israeli Embassy in Singapore.